Free Tech Tools and Materials for English Language Teachers

Claire Bradin Siskin

  csiskin@edvista.com

Software Tools Web-based tools Materials Professional Development

Software Tools

Name
Platform
Description
Download Site
Apache OpenOffice PC, Mac, Linux suite of productivity tools https://www.openoffice.org/
Audacity PC, Mac, Linux software for recording and editing sounds http://audacity.sourceforge.net
GIMP PC, Mac, Linux GNU Image Manituplation Program https://www.gimp.org/
Hot Potatoes PC, Mac tool for creating interactive language exercises http://hotpot.uvic.ca/

Example of an exercise created with Hot Potatoes:

http://emailwriter.de/exercises/email-prepositional-phrases.htm

More Hot Potatoes exercises:

http://www.edvista.com/claire/aspects/langfam/index.html
KompoZer PC, Mac, Linux html editor; use to create and publish web pages http://www.kompozer.net/
LiveCode PC, Mac, Linux rapid application development tool http://livecode.org
Praat PC, Mac, Linux software for acoustic analysis http://www.fon.hum.uva.nl/praat/
VLC Media Player PC, Mac, Linux plays many multimedia formats http://www.videolan.org/vlc/

Web-based tools

ANVILL A National Virtual Language Lab https://anvill.uoregon.edu/anvill2/
bibme create a bibliography according to MLA, APA, Chicago, or Turabian formats http://www.bibme.org/
Jeopardy Rocks create an online Jeopardy game https://www.jeopardy.rocks/
Puzzlemaker by Discovery Education http://puzzlemaker.discoveryeducation.com/CrissCrossSetupForm.asp
Rewordify "understand what you read" http://rewordify.com/
Tagul create word clouds in different shapes https://tagul.com/create
Word Search Maker create custom word search worksheets http://tools.atozteacherstuff.com/word-search-maker/wordsearch.php
Wordle

“a toy for creating word clouds”

http://www.wordle.net/

Materials

Activities for ESL Students low-tech; good for slow Internet http://a4esl.org/
American English For English language teachers around the world http://americanenglish.state.gov/
ELTpics collection of Creative Commons licensed pictures by teachers, and for teachers http://www.eltpics.com/
ESL-WOW English as a Second Language Writing Online Workshop http://esl-wow.org/
Free Rice practice vocabulary and fight world hunger http://freerice.com/

Randall's ESL Cyber Listening Lab

Listening practice; scripts; comprehension quizzes http://www.esl-lab.com/
Real English original videos and interactive lessons http://www.real-english.com/
Ted Talks short video talks https://www.ted.com/
UVic's Language Teaching Clipart Library 3000 images designed for language instruction http://web.uvic.ca/hcmc/clipart/
Wikimedia Commons sdatabase of freely usable media files http://commons.wikimedia.org
YouTube "Broadcast Yourself" https://www.youtube.com/

Simple English Videos on YouTube:


https://www.youtube.com/user/vickihollettvideo

Professional Development

English Teaching Forum A quarterly journal for English teachers https://americanenglish.state.gov/forum
TESOL CALL-IS Electronic Village Online Sessions free online courses http://evosessions.pbworks.com/
"An Invitation to CALL" Phil Hubbard's course on CALL http://web.stanford.edu/~efs/callcourse2/
General information about CALL links to organizations, journals, websites http://edvista.com/claire/call.html


Last modified: November 4, 2016

Back to Claire's page